Independent MP-elect Shamin signs to PNC

Kurendhoo MP-elect Shamin Habeeb; who was elected for the seat as an independent MP signed on to ruling People's National Congress on Sunday, May 19th, 2024 -- Photo/ PNC

Kurendhoo MP-elect, who contended and won the seat at the 20th parliamentary election as an independent candidate as signed to ruling People's National Congress (PNC) on Sunday.

PNC confirmed via X, the Kurendhoo MP-elect Shamin Habeeb signed on to the party.

With Shamin signing on to the ruling party, PNC's parliamentary members' share has reached to 74 seats - extending its supermajority position.

Four candidates contended for Kurendhoo seat, which included former Deputy of Economic Ministry Adam Thaufeeq, running from PNC; current Hulhumale' MP Ali Niyaz, from MDP; Shamin and current Kurendhoo MP Abdul Ghani Abdul Hakeem.

Shamin is the latest from the independent candidates to sign for the ruling party. Previous independent MP-elects who signed to the party include;

  • Dr. Anara Naeem - Huraa
  • Yaseen Abdulla - Naifaru
  • Azim Abdul Aziz - Vilingili
  • Hassan Zareer - Mathiveri
  • Ahmed Zameer - Central Machchangolhi
  • Mohamed Rasheed - Nolhivaram

While multiple independently elected MPs have signed on to the ruling party, MDP, which is in the opposition now, has already passed the Anti-Defection Bill that bars floor-crossing by independent MPs during parliamentary terms.

The bill was ratified by President Dr. Mohamed Muizzu more recently.

Although the Anti-Defection Act bars members to floor-cross during parliamentary terms, it does not provide any legal ramifications for MPs who switch political allegiances ahead of the term.

A separate bill has been submitted to the parliament seeking to include an anti-defection clause in the Constitution as well.

The MP-elects of the 20th parliamentary assembly will take oath on May 28th, 2024.