MDP wins Guraidhoo Parliamentary seat

For the first time in 14 years, Maldivian Democratic Party has won the Parliament seat for Guraidhoo constituency.

As per the preliminary results announced by the Election Commission (EC), the candidate representing MDP, Mohamed Shaaz won with a difference of more than hundred votes. 

Temp results by EC:

  • Hussain Riza (PPM): 1226 votes 
  • Mohamed Shaaz (MDP): 1340 votes 
  • Ali Areef (MNP): 136 votes 

Voting for the Guraidhoo constituency was held after a competitive and energetic campaign. 

Opposition coalition parties PPM and PNC has prostrated today itself, accusing the government of influencing the results of this election. 

The Guraidhoo seat was left vacant after the parliamentarian for the constituency MP Ibrahim Riza passed away. He died while undergoing treatment for cancer in Malaysia.