MP Siraj appointed PNC’s parliamentary group leader

Fonadhoo MP Moosa Siraj signs for PPM, PNC's coalition partner, on September 25, 2023. (Photo/Eliyz)

Fonadhoo MP Moosa Siraj has been appointed main ruling People’s National Congress (PNC)’s parliamentary group leader.

Speaker Mohamed Aslam who was presiding over the 31st sitting of the third session of the parliament on Monday morning said PNC, after appointing MP Siraj as the party’s parliamentary group leader, has informed the same to the parliament.

MP Siraj who was elected to the parliament on the main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)’s ticket left the party to join PNC during the presidential elections.

Initially, the post of PNC’s parliamentary group leader had been held by the current Minister for Local Governance Adam Shareef, who resigned from his post as a parliamentarian following his appointment to the cabinet.

The post was then bestowed on Felidhoo MP Mohamed Fazul Rasheed, who was later appointed the managing director of Urbanco. Fazul also resigned from his post as a parliamentarian following his appointment.

At present, there are two members in the parliament representing PNC; Siraj and Thulusdhoo MP Ibrahim Naseem. MP Naseem who was elected as an independent candidate joined PNC after the presidential elections.