EC: No grounds warranting a recount of Dhuvaafaru constituency’s boxes

Ballot counting in Sunday's parliamentary election. (Sun Photo/Moosa Nadheem)

The Elections Commission (EC) states there are no grounds warning a recount of the ballot boxes of Dhuvaafaru constituency, as requested.

A request was filed with EC’s Complaints Bureau to recount the ballot boxes of Dhuvaafaru constituency following ruling PNC’s candidate win by a difference of just four votes in Sunday’s parliamentary election.

The preliminary result publicized by EC shows that PNC’s candidate Mohamed Ali secured Dhuvaafaru constituency’s seat with 1,074 votes. His closest competitor, independent candidate Ibrahim Abdul Rahman (Ibukko) secured 1,070 votes.

Meanwhile, incumbent Dhuvaafaru MP who contested the election on main opposition MDP’s ticket secured 579 votes. Former Home Minister Azleen Ahmed who contested on Jumhoory Party’s election secured 77 votes.

It was independent candidate Ibrahim Abdul Rahman who requested a recount following his loss to PNC’s Mohamed Ali by four votes.

EC’s member Hassan Zakariyya, on Thursday, said they were reviewing the request.

“Investigations so far show no grounds to recount the ballot boxes of Dhuvaafaru constituency,” he added.

PNC had secured a landslide victory in Sunday’s elections; winning 66 out of 93 seats. Seven independently elected MPs have signed the party since. Henceforth, PNC will now have 73 seats in the 20th parliamentary assembly.

This does not take into account the candidates from other parties backed by the government; Maldives National Party (MNP)’s leader Colonel (Retired) Mohamed Nazim, Maldives Development Alliance (MDA)’s leader Ahmed Siyam Mohamed, and Mohamed Abbas – a political from MDA who won the Velidhoo seat.

The new parliamentary assembly will be sworn-in on May 28th.