Largest expense on the election from Qasim and Nazim

JP Leader Qasim Ibrahim and MNP's Leader Colonel (Retired) Mohamed Nazim (R). (Sun Photo/Fayaz Moosa)

Financial statements of the candidates who contested September’s presidential elections show that Jumhoory Party (JP)’s candidate Qasim Ibrahim and Maldives National Party (MNP)’s candidate Colonel (Retired) Mohamed Nazim spent the most on their campaign.

As per Qasim’s financial statement, the funds he received for the campaign included MVR 100,000 injected from his own pockets, MVR 15 million from various legal entities and MVR 5.4 million from JP, with items received for the campaign from the party being calculated at MVR 5.5 million.

Therewith, the total funds received for his campaign stood at MVR 25.7 million.

Qasim’s personal expenses related to the campaign stood at MVR 100,000 while MVR 20.3 million was spent on garnering support.

As per the financial statement, MVR 85,450 was left from the funds received at the conclusion of his campaign.

Nazim’s financial statement shows that he injected MVR 700,000 from his own pockets to his campaign. Funds received from other sources for his campaign included MVR 6 million from individual people and MVR 5.9 million from various legal entities.

He received no items for his campaign. Hence, the total funds received for his campaign stood at MVR 13 million, with just MVR 303 remaining at the end of the campaign.

The expenses by other candidates for their campaign in the presidential candidate with the highest number of presidential candidates to date are as follows;

  • President Dr. Mohamed Muizzu (People’s National Congress)– MVR 2 million
  • Former president Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (Maldivian Democratic Party) – MVR 6.8 million
  • Ilyas Labeeb {The Democrats) – MVR 2.5 million
  • Faris Maumoon (Independent) – MVR 1.1 million
  • Umar Naseer (Independent) – MVR 285,950
  • Hassan Zameel (Independent) – MVR 16,259.68

The votes they received in the first round, in the order of their candidate numbers, are as follows;

  1. Umar – 6,343 votes
  2. Zameel – 327 votes
  3. Solih – 86,161 votes
  4. President Muizzu – 101,635 votes
  5. Qasim – 5,460 votes
  6. Faris – 2,979 votes
  7. Ilyas – 15, 839 votes
  8. Nazim – 1,907 votes