EC releases runoff re-registration list; begins accepting complaints

Elections Commission (EC)'s Vice President Ismail Habeeb.

Elections Commission (EC) has released the list of people who re-registered to vote in the runoff round of the presidential election slated for September 30th – following which they have begun accepting complaints to the register.

Complaints to the register, publicized on EC’s website, will be accepted till 9:00pm on Saturday night.

The registered ballot box of the voter, as per EC, can be checked by texting VR (Space) ID card number to 1414.

They further detailed that complaints to the register can be submitted via EC’s form ‘Form to Submit Complaints to the Register of Eligible Voters’, which is also available on the commission’s website in additional local council secretariates.

Complaints, if from Male’ area, should be submitted to the focal point of the election, Dharubaaruge. Complaints, if from residential islands outside of Male’, should be submitted to the local councils of the respective islands. Complaints, if from nations where EC will place ballot boxes, should be submitted to consulate offices or high commissions between 10:00am and 3:00pm.

282,395 people were eligible to vote in the first round of voting – held on September 9. With 408 more people who will become 18 by September 30, total of 282,803 people are eligible to vote in the runoff.

42867 people applied for reregistration for the first round of the presidential elections which were held on September 9. The number is much higher for the runoff at over 47,000 which has raised questions from the opposition, doubting the validity of the re-registrations.