EC accepts candidacies from Faris, Umar and Zameel

Elections Commission (EC)'s chairman Fuad Thaufeeq (C) speaks to press on July 12, 2023. (Sun Photo/Mohamed Shathiu Abdulla)

Elections Commission (EC), on Tuesday, has accepted the candidacy forms filed by three individuals who filed to contest the upcoming presidential elections independently; Ahmed Faris Maumoon, Umar Naseer and Hassan Zameel.

All three of them submitted their candidacy forms on Monday.

EC’s Vice Chairman Ismail Habeeb, confirming the commission’s acceptance of the candidacy forms filed by Faris, Umar and Zameel, who applied to contest the presidential election independently, said their forms were accepted as the commission believes them to be eligible candidates under the law after verification of information provided in their forms.

Eights candidates will be facing off the presidential election slated for September 9th. They are;

  • President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (MDP)
  • Dr. Mohamed Muizzu (PPM-PNC)
  • Colonel (Retired) Mohamed Nazim (MNP)
  • Qasim Ibrahim (JP)
  • Ilyas Labeeb (The Democrats)
  • Former home minister Umar Naseer (Independent)
  • Former deputy defense minister Hassan Zameel (Independent)
  • Ahmed Faris Maumoon (Independent)

The first candidacy that the EC received had been that of PPM’s leader, former president Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom.

However, the commission rejected Yameen’s candidacy due to his conviction for money laundering and bribery, citing Article 109 of the Constitution, which disqualifies candidates who have been sentenced to over 12 months in prison for a crime, unless it has been at least three years since they have completed their sentence or have been pardoned.

He unsuccessfully contested the decision with the Supreme Court, which ruled on Sunday that the EC was right to declare the opposition leader ineligible to contest the election.