Over 20 signatures secured for President’s no-confidence motion

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih. (Photo/President's Office)

It has been revealed that over 20 lawmakers have signed the no-confidence motion against President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih presently being prepared for submission.

The no-confidence motion against President Solih claiming the failure to consider national interest in the border dispute between Maldives and Mauritius is an initiative of an opposition alliance comprising of Fikuregge Dhirun, PPM-PNC coalition, MNP and Jumhoory Party.

Briefing Sun on the latest updates on the no-confidence motion – Maduvvari MP Adam Shareef Umar, a PNC member undertaking a lead role in this initiative, said over 20 signatures have been secured for the no-confidence motion against President Solih.

He did not disclose the exact number of lawmakers who signed the no-confidence motion, nor did he disclose the names of lawmakers. However, MNP’s leader, Dhangethi MP Colonel (Retired) Mohamed Nazim confirmed to Sun that he signed the motion.

In a press conference held by the opposition alliance earlier, Fikuregge Dhirun said its members will not object to signing the president’s no-confidence motion.

Article 100 (a) Maldivian constitution states that a no-confidence motion against an individual serving as the president or the vice president, for any reason, can only be submitted with the signatures of at least one-third of the parliament members. That is 29 members.

Twenty-five lawmakers represent parties in the opposition alliance; 12 from Fikuregge Dhirun, seven from PPM-PNC coalition, three from Jumhoory Party, and three from MNP.

On the other hand, there are 56 pro-government lawmakers.

No-confidence motions have already been submitted against Attorney General Riffath Ibrahim and Foreign Minister Abdulla Shahid over the border dispute.

Economic Minister Fayyaz, speaking at a press conference by President Solih’s loyalists, said none of the no-confidence motions will succeed.