Newly elected Komandoo MP Raashidh to take oath tomorrow

Mohamed Raashidh, the newly elected Komandoo MP.

Ruling MDP’s candidate, Mohamed Raashidh, who won the Komandoo parliamentary seat by-election is set to take oath tomorrow.

People’s Majilis said that Raashidh will be taking oath at a special ceremony which will be held at the Majilis at 8:30am tomorrow morning.

Three candidates contested the Komandoo by-election; MDP’s Mohamed Rashid, PPM’s Moosa Fathuhy and MNP’s Abdul Hannan Idrees. 

The official results announced by EC on Monday show Rashid won the election with 1,441 votes. His closest rival, Fathuhy won 1,161 votes, while Hannan won 323 votes.     

Komandoo parliamentary seat was left vacant following the death of MP Hussain Waheed on December 14, 2021. He died at the age of 53 years in a hospital in Male’ City after a year-long battle with cancer.