Asif appointed member of Elections Commission

Mohamed Asif (L) is presented with his letter of appointment as a member of Elections Commission by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (R) on September 6, 2021. (Photo/President's Office)

Mohamed Asif has been appointed as a member of the Elections Commission.

Asif was presented with his letter of appointment by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih in a ceremony at the President’s Office on Monday afternoon.

His oath of office was administered by Supreme Court Justice Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim.

The position at Elections Commission fell vacant following the resignation of the commission’s chairman Ahmed Shareef back in June. 

President Solih nominated five candidates for the vacancy; Asif, Shahula Ismail, Azleema Ahmed, Ahmed Mansoor, and Mariyam Haneefa Khalid.

Asif secured the approval of the Parliament for appointment to the Elections Commission with the unanimous consensus of 50 parliamentarians last week.

Asif previously served as Deputy Director-General and Assistant Director-General at the Elections Commission.