Parliament approves 13 MPs for 241 Committee, 11 MPs for all other committees

Newly elected members arrive at the Parliament to take their oath on May 28, 2024. (Photo/People's Majlis)

In its first sitting held on Tuesday, the 20th parliamentary assembly has declared the number of MPs that will be included in the permanent committees of the parliament; 13 MPs for the Committee on National Security Services (241 Committee) and 11 MPs in all remaining committees.

The 20th parliamentary assembly was sworn in on Tuesday.

In its first sitting held following the inauguration ceremony, ruling PNC’s parliamentary group leader, Inguraidhoo MP Ibrahim Falah submitted a motion regarding the formation of the permanent committees of the parliament.

Falah’s motion does not specify the names of the MPs that will be appointed to the committees.

However, he proposed to include 13 MPs in the 241 Committee and 11 MPs in all remaining committees in his motion which was approved by the unanimous consensus of 88 MPs in attendance.

Falah submitted a second motion at the sitting which proposed that the 20th parliamentary assembly proceed with its works in accordance with the regulations of the 19th assembly, until new regulations are drafted and approved to ensure sittings are held uninterrupted.

In light of the motion passed on Tuesday, the 20th parliamentary assembly will hold its second sitting next Monday.

The 20th parliamentary consists of 93 lawmakers out of which 75 members belong to PNC, granting the ruling party supermajority. 

During the inaugural sitting, Fonadhoo MP Abdul Raheem Abdulla and Dhiggaru MP Ahmed Nazim – both from ruling PNC – were elected speaker and deputy speaker respectively, via a secret ballot.