New assembly to follow previous assembly’s regulations till new regulations approved

A capture from the first sitting of the 20th parliamentary assembly held on May 28, 2024. (Photo/People's Majlis)

In its first sitting held on Tuesday, the 20th parliamentary assembly has passed to follow 19th parliamentary assembly’s regulations until new regulations are drafted and approved.  

The 20th parliamentary assembly was sworn-in on Tuesday.

In its first sitting held following the inauguration ceremony, Fonadhoo MP Abdul Raheem Abdulla and Dhiggaru MP Ahmed Nazim – both from ruling People’s National Congress (PNC) – were elected speaker and deputy speaker, respectively.

A motion was later presented at the sitting by PNC’s Inguraidhoo MP Ibrahim Falah regarding the parliament’s regulations. The following proposals were put forth in the motion:

  • To proceed with the 20th parliamentary assembly’s works in accordance with the regulations of the 19th assembly, until new regulations are drafted and approved to ensure sittings are held uninterrupted
  • To task the General Purpose Committee with drafting the regulations, with a deadline of June 26th to submit the regulation to the floor for approval

The motion was passed by the unanimous consensus of 90 lawmakers in attendance.

Deputy Speaker Nazim, who was presiding over the sitting, underscored that the works of the parliament cannot be stalled until regulations are drafted. The passage of the motion, henceforth, has paved the way for the parliament’s works to proceed at a fast pace, he said. 

In light of the motion passed on Tuesday, the 20th parliamentary assembly will hold its second sitting next Monday.

The 20th parliamentary consists of 93 lawmakers out of which 75 members belong to PNC, granting the ruling party supermajority.