Five apply to vacant BroadCom member post

Parliamentarians pictured during a parliamentary sitting. (Photo/People's Majlis)

Five individuals applied for the vacant post of member of the Maldives Broadcasting Commission (BroadCom) by the expiration of the deadline for applications.

The names of the five individuals submitted to the Parliament for approval by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih were read out during the third sitting of the first session of the year.

The names were read out in the order submitted by the president. They are;

  • Aminath Nuzha, Reward, HA. Hoarafushi
  • Hussain Amru, V. Roashan
  • Mariyam Nareemaan Shareef, Mushthareege, GDh. Thinadhoo
  • Shaan Solih Mohamed, Finivaadheega, Dh. Kudahuvadhoo
  • Mariyam Muna, Bougainvillea, S. Feydhoo  

Parliament’s Committee on Independent Institutions will review the names submitted following which they would submit their report to the floor for voting.

Applications for BroadCom membership were opened following the resignation of former Vice President Ahmed Gais.

The current composition of BroadCom stands as follows;

  • Mariyam Waheeda, President
  • Mohamed Fazeen, Vice President
  • Amjadh Yoosuf, Member
  • Ali Yoosuf, Member
  • Aminath Ameena, Member
  • Mohamed Fazeen, Member
  • Shifla Ibrahim, Member

BroadCom is constituted of seven members – each appointed for a term of five years.