MP Shareef: ACC members resigned due to government’s influence

PNC deputy leader, Maduvvari MP Adam Shareef Umar. (File Photo/Sun/Fayaz Moosa)

Maduvvaru MP Adam Shareef Umar has alleged that all members of the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) tendered their resignation by undue influence on them from the government and the parliament.

The three remaining members of ACC tendered their resignations earlier today. They are; the commission’s president Mariyam Shiuna, vice president Fathimath Anoola, and Aishath Abdulla.  

MP Shareef described the sudden resignation of the remaining three ACC members as the government and parliament’s cruelty.

Independent Institutions Committee had recommended a vote of no-confidence motion on the Parliament floor against the ACC members on Sunday evening, based on findings of a performance audit, which uncovered the commission had over 16,000 pending cases.    

ACC members were given the chance to respond in writing regarding their dismissal prior to this vote – following which all members had submitted their written response

Ibrahim Shakeel, who was serving as a member tendered his resignation following the Committee’s decision to initiate the dismissal process. Meanwhile, Ashraf Ali, who was also serving as a member had resigned amidst the performance audit.