Media awards go to Sun, Mihaaru, V and Avas

This year’s Maldives Media Council awards have been won by Sun Online, Mihaaru, Vnews and Avas.

The awards, which was launched five years back, are conferred in nine journalistic fields.

The award winners for 2016 are:

- Best Photo Journalist: Fayaz Moosa, Sun Online

- Best Video Journalist: Aminath Ameena, VTV

- Best Journalist (Social Affairs): Asiyath Mohamed Saeed, Mihaaru

- Best Journalist (Business): Ibrahim Maahil Mohamed, Sun Online

- Best Journalist (Legal): Muizzu Ibrahim, Mihaaru

- Best Sports Journalist: Azzam Alifulhu, Mihaaru

- Best Journalist (Politics): Nafiz Ali, freelancer

- Best Journalist (Feature) Niumathulla Idhrees, Mihaaru

The Promising Journalist award was won by Moosa Rasheed, who works for Avas; while the Lifetime Achievement award was won by Abbas Ibrahim, the owner of Aafathis News.

Each of the award winners were given a MVR 15,000 gift voucher by the Bank of Maldives, a one-year internet package by Dhiraagu, a trip to India by the Indian High Commission, and multiple other gifts from businesses operating in Maldives.

The award ceremony was held last Wednesday night at Dharubaaruge in Male’ City.

The entertainment was provided by popular Maldivian singer Shalabee Ibrahim and Habeys boduberu group.