MPs Mahloof and Zubair vote in favour of no-confidence motion against AG

Galolhu-south MP Ahmed Mahloof and Dhuvaafaru MP Mohamed Zubair have voted in favour of the no-confidence motion against Attorney General (AG) Aishath Azima Shakoor, submitted by Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) and Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP), at the parliament sitting held today.

The motion against Azima Shakoor was passed with 41 votes in favour, out of a total of 46 votes.

MPs of MDP, DRP, Mahloof, Zubair and Felidhoo MP Yoosuf Naeem voted in favour of passing the motion.

Independent MP Yoosuf Naeem usually follows MDP three line whips.

Mahloof told Sun Online that he voted to pass the no-confidence motion against Azima Shakoor because he has lost confidence in her.

Zubair’s reason for voting to pass this motion is not yet known, as he was not available for a comment at the time of press. In the past, he has voted in favour of the government.

Mahloof said, “Azima is not a team player, she prioritises her own interests over the interests of the team. The letter sent to the parliament regarding the procedure to be followed if a president is not elected by 11 November, was also based on her own advice. The matter was not discussed.”

Earlier, Mahloof also voted against Azima Shakoor regarding her appointment as the Minister of Gender, Family and Human Rights. Following this, efforts were made to re-appoint her as Attorney General, and Mahloof said that he would not approve of that appointment either.

The five MPs who voted against the motion of no-confidence against Azima Shakoor are Kulhudhuffushi-south MP Mohamed Nasheed, Kurendhoo MP Ahmed Moosa, Maamigili MP Gasim Ibrahim, Maradhoo MP Hassan Adil and Naifaru MP Ahmed Mohamed.